Bindl Sales

Kansas Ag News Headlines
Senate Ag Announces Subcommittee Assignments
Kansas Ag Connection - 02/08/2019

U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry Chairman Pat Roberts, R-Kan., and Ranking Member Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich., Thursday announced the new Subcommittee assignments for the 116th Congress.

At a business meeting Thursday, the full Committee approved Subcommittee chairs, ranking members, and assignments, which are listed below.

The Subcommittee on Commodities, Risk Management, and Trade oversees matters regarding production agriculture, including commodity programs, crop insurance, commodity exchanges, agriculture trade, international food assistance, and credit.

Sen. Boozman, Chair Sen. Brown, Ranking Member
Sen. McConnell Sen. Bennet
Sen. Hoeven Sen. Gillibrand
Sen. Hyde-Smith Sen. Smith
Sen. Perdue Sen. Durbin
Sen. Grassley

The Subcommittee on Rural Development and Energy oversees the many programs in USDA's Rural Development mission area, including facilities, utilities, loans, and renewable energy.

Sen. Ernst, Chair Sen. Smith, Ranking Member
Sen. McConnell Sen. Brown
Sen. Hoeven Sen. Klobuchar
Sen. Braun Sen. Bennet
Sen. Thune Sen. Durbin
Sen. Fischer

The Subcommittee on Conservation, Forestry, and Natural Resources oversees programs regarding conservation and protection of natural resources, regulation of pesticides and agriculture biotechnology, and forestry.

Sen. Braun, Chair Sen. Bennet, Ranking Member
Sen. Boozman Sen. Leahy
Sen. Hyde-Smith Sen. Klobuchar
Sen. Perdue Sen. Casey
Sen. Grassley Sen. Durbin
Sen. Thune

The Subcommittee on Nutrition, Agricultural Research, and Specialty Crops oversees programs regarding food and nutrition assistance, school meals, non-program crops and research.

Sen. Fischer, Chair Sen. Casey, Ranking Member
Sen. McConnell Sen. Leahy
Sen. Boozman Sen. Brown
Sen. Hoeven Sen. Klobuchar
Sen. Ernst Sen. Gillibrand
Sen. Thune

The Subcommittee on Livestock, Marketing, and Agriculture Security oversees matters involving livestock and dairy production, as well as marketing, food safety, and security issues.

Sen. Hyde-Smith, Chair Sen. Gillibrand, Ranking Member
Sen. Ernst Sen. Leahy
Sen. Braun Sen. Klobuchar
Sen. Perdue Sen. Casey
Sen. Grassley Sen. Smith
Sen. Fischer

*Roberts and Stabenow serve as ex officio members of all subcommittees.

Send this article to a friend

Other Kansas Headlines
Cloverdale TMR Mixers
Eisentraut Ag Services
Copyright 2019 - All Rights Reserved.