JM Innovations

Kansas Ag News Headlines
16 Receive Emergency Planning Awards at EPA Conference
Kansas Ag Connection - 08/12/2019

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency announced 16 awards at the biennial Region 7 Local Emergency Planning Committee's Planning and Response Conference at the Embassy Suites Omaha Downtown Old Market. The conference brings together experts from business, industry and government in the fields of chemical emergency, preparedness, prevention, transportation, and health and safety to collaborate and inform participants about chemical risk protection and promotion of chemical safety.

Local Emergency Planning Committees (LEPCs) serve as focal points in communities for information about hazardous materials, emergency planning, and environmental risks. To assist LEPCs in conducting their jobs more effectively, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) join private industry and tribal, state and local government partners to host the Emergency Planning and Response Conference.

Award recipients include the following (click on the links below to view detailed information online about that award recipient):

Overall Excellence for LEPC Serving Population Less than 20,000

- Labette County, Kan., LEPC

- Region 26 Nebraska LEPC, serving Thomas/Blaine/Loup/Garfield Counties

Overall Excellence for LEPC Serving Population Between 20,000 and 80,000

- Randolph County, Mo., LEPC

- Adams County, Neb., LEPC

Overall Excellence for LEPC Serving Population Greater than 80,000

- Iowa Region 6 LEPC, serving Benton, Buchanan, Cedar, Clayton, Clinton, Delaware, Fayette, Jackson, and Jones counties.

Tribal Emergency Planning and Response Program

- Santee Sioux Nation, offices in Niobrara, Neb.

Exercise Award

- Iowa Region 6 LEPC

- Randolph County, Mo., LEPC

Digital Communication Award

- Iowa Region 6 LEPC

Innovation Award

- Iowa Region 6 LEPC

Send this article to a friend

Other Kansas Headlines
LaForage Systems
Osseo Plastics
Copyright © 2020 - All Rights Reserved.