Kelly Manufacturing

Kansas Ag News Headlines
Safe Kids Kansas Honors Advocates for Life-Saving Work
Kansas Ag Connection - 12/05/2018

Safe Kids Kansas presented its annual awards in a ceremony Tuesday at the Kansas Soybean Association in Topeka. Awards included the prestigious Dr. Dennis Cooley Award of Excellence, named in honor of pediatrician Dr. Dennis Cooley of Topeka. This year's Cooley Award was presented to Tim McCool.

"Tim McCool had a calling, to promote motor vehicle safety and save lives," said Cherie Sage, State Director for Safe Kids Kansas. "His dedication to traffic safety has impacted countless families and individuals. We are honored to recognize Tim and his extraordinary contributions to protecting lives and preventing injuries for all Kansans."

McCool has spent a career making sure Kansans are safe on the roadways. McCool started his career in broadcast radio in the early 1980s in Junction City, a skill that he would use many times over in future years in recording safety public service announcements. He began his law enforcement career as a patrolman with the city of Junction City for five years before completing his training as a Kansas Highway Patrol officer in 1988. He advanced to Technical Trooper and State Public Information Officer with the patrol, providing public education and training on motor vehicle safety to Kansans of all ages, from the smallest babies in car seats to older drivers.

When McCool retired from the Highway Patrol in 2011, he took on the role of Traffic Safety Specialist with the Kansas Traffic Safety Resource Office (KTSRO) where he continued his traffic safety mission. He has worked with statewide partners to coordinate and implement programs across the state related to vehicle safety. He is also a certified Child Passenger Safety Technician Instructor and has personally checked thousands of child car seats across the span of his careers. He has served as the President of Safe Kids Pottawatomie County and as Chair of the Safe Kids Kansas Board of Directors. McCool retired from KTSRO in May of this year.

Safe Kids Kansas also presented awards for Outstanding Partnership for Child Safety, Outstanding Coalition Organization, Local Coalition of the Year and Service Recognition awards.

- The Outstanding Partnership for Child Safety award was presented to two recipients, WIBW and Stormont Vail Health.

- The Outstanding Coalition Organization award was presented

- The Local Coalition of the Year award was presented to Safe Kids Doniphan County.

- Service Recognition Awards were presented to Pam Kemp with Clay County Emergency Management and Kansas Highway Patrol Troopers, Donald Hughes, Candice Breshears and Chad Crittenden.

Send this article to a friend

Other Kansas Headlines
Byron Seeds
Produce Promotions
Copyright 2019 - All Rights Reserved.